24 September 2011

New Sepac stamp from Luxembourg..



Date of Issue : 27 September 2011

The Small European Postal Administration Cooperation (SEPAC) is an organisation that brings together Europe’s small postal administrations or operators. They are Åland, the Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greenland, Guernsey, Iceland, the Isle of Man, Jersey, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco and Luxembourg.

SEPAC’s goal is to promote philately and ensure the continued use of postage stamps in the face of other means of postal franking. For the joint issue of the participating members, the theme that was chosen was the most beautiful landscapes of the different countries. P &T Luxembourg has opted for Luxembourg City’s Chemin de la Corniche for its SEPAC 2011 stamp.

Indian theme on foreign stamps

                                                   - Kenneth Sequeira


Tuvalu Post issued a souvenir sheet featuring four prominent Indian personalities during INDIPEX 2011 .

1. Amrita Sher-gil - Painter

Amrita Sher-Gil  was an eminent Indian painter, sometimes known as India's Frida Kahlo, and today considered an important woman painter of 20th century India, whose legacy stands at par with that of the Masters of Bengal Renaissance.

2. Subramanyam Chandrashekhar - Physicist

Chandrasekhar served on the University of Chicago faculty from 1937 until his death in 1995 at the age of 84. He became a naturalized citizen of the United States in 1953.

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar,  was an Indian astrophysicist who, with William A. Fowler, won the 1983 Nobel Prize for Physics for key discoveries that led to the currently accepted theory on the later evolutionary stages of massive stars.


3. Satyajit Ray - Filmaker

Satyajit Ray was born in the city of Kolkata into a Bengali family prominent in the world of arts and literature. Numerous awards were bestowed on Ray throughout his lifetime, including 32 National Film Awards including Bharat Ratna (posthumously) and many awards at international film festivals.

4. Rabindranath Tagore – Writer

Most prolific writer of India.Author of Gitanjali and its "profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verse", he became the first non-European Nobel laureate by earning the 1913 Prize in Literature.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails