06 November 2013

Asean Summit 2013



To commemorate the 22nd and 23rd ASEAN Summits this year, Brunei Darussalam, chair of ASEAN for 2013, has issued special edition stamps showing the venues of the two summits and the flags of ASEAN Member States and Dialogue Partners.

ASEAN Summit is an annual meeting held by the member of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) in relation to economic, and cultural development of Southeast Asian countries. The countries-members of ASEAN are Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam.

Brunei Darussalam is the Chair of ASEAN from January to December 2013.
This is the fourth time that Brunei Darussalam has chaired ASEAN, having previously been the Chair in 1989, 1995 and 2001. In 2013, Brunei Darussalam chairs the 22nd ASEAN Summit on 24-25 April 2013 and the 23rd ASEAN Summit and other related summits on 9-10 October 2013.

Brunei Darussalam’s theme for the Chairmanship is “Our People, Our Future Together”.

This theme stresses the role of the people in ASEAN Member States in advancing cooperation in the areas of political-security, economic and socio-cultural. It also asserts that the region’s future is dependent on how the people of ASEAN move and work together to ensure progress for the development of the whole region.

My recent Cover

Picture 027

Received this cover from  Andrzej Bek of Poland. Many thanks to Andrzej  for this nice cover.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails