05 December 2013

New stamp on Railways..



Bulgarian Post issued stamps dedicated to Sofia Metropolitan. This is in the form of se-tenant strip.

The Sofia Metropolitanis the rapid transit network servicing the Bulgarian capital city Sofia. It began operation on January 28, 1998. Currently, the Sofia Metro consists of two interconnected lines, serving 27 stations, with a total route length of 31 kilometers, being the 34th largest European metro system behind Amsterdam Metro and before Budapest metro. The Metro links the highly populated districts of Lyulin–Mladost (Line 1 – Red) and Nadezhda–Lozenetz (Line 2 – Blue).

120th anniversary of Wuhan University


Date of Issue : 29 November 2013

China Post issued a stamp commemorating the 120th anniversary of Wuhan University (1893-2013) Wuhan, Central China’s Hubei province, on Nov 29. The stamp is valued at 1.2 yuan ($0.2). The Wuhan University Library is featured in the design, which embodies the energy, vitality and spirit of the century- old school.

During the celebration faculty, students, and guests from around the world gathered for the grand event.

Notable guests at the celebration included: Nobel Prize in Literature winner Jean Marie Gustave Le Clezio, Nobel Prize in Economics winner Christopher A. Pissarides, Vice President of Delft University of Technology Peter Wieringa, leaders from collaborative universities, thousands of alumni from home and abroad, the daughter of WHU previous president Wang Shijie – Professor Wang Qiuhua, son of Li Da – Professor Li Tianxin, members of the press, members of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE), senior professors in humanities and social sciences, along with WHU leaders, faculty and student representatives.

New stamps from Malaysia

100 Years of Banking Excellence in Malaysia



Malaysia Post issued a set of stamps on 23rd November 2013, commemorating the 100th anniversary of Malaysia RHB Banking Group. The RHB Banking Group was celebrating its 100th year anniversary on 15 July 2013.

On 15 July 1913, The Kwong Yik Banking Corporation Limited was incorporated. It was Malaya’s first local bank and was founded by a group of prominent members of the Chinese community led by Wong Loke Yew. In 1966, Development and Commercial Bank Berhad (DCB) was established by then Finance Minister, Tun Sir Henry HS Lee, and it grew to be the fifth largest bank in Malaysia. He also credited the group’s success today to the dedication and hard work of its Senior Management team and employees.


No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails