12 June 2013

New stamps from Australia



Date of Issue : 11 June 2013

Australia Post issued a set of four stamps on oldest Government Houses.

This is the first in a series on Australian historical architecture and features four of Australia's oldest Government Houses. The issue celebrates the beauty and range of these distinctive and historic buildings.

Government House in Perth is one of the State's most magnificent properties and in 2013 celebrates its 150th anniversary. Built in 1863 both the buildings and gardens are listed on the State's heritage register. It was designed by Lieutenant-Colonel (later Sir) E Y W Henderson, RE. The stamp image is reproduced courtesy of Jon Green Photographer.

Government House in Hobart was completed in 1857 and is regarded as one of the best Vice-Regal residences in the Commonwealth. Designed in neo-Gothic style by William Porden Kay, some of the sandstone excavated from quarries at the site was used.

Government House in Sydney was designed by Edward Blore, architect to King William IV. It is one of the finest examples of gothic revival architecture in NSW. The stamp image is reproduced courtesy of Richard Glover, Benjamin Jakabek and Historic Houses Trust of NSW.

Government House Adelaide is the oldest continually-inhabited Vice-Regal residence in Australia. It was from a design by English architect, Edward O'Brien, which was amended by George Strickland Kingston, the assistant Surveyor-General of South Australia. The stamp image is reproduced courtesy of SALife Magazine.

: Australia Post

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails