06 April 2018

Commonwealth Games – Philatelic Journey ....

Commonwealth Games  – Philatelic Journey Part 2

The Commonwealth Games is a multi discipline sporting event involving athletes from Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first held in 1930 and has taken place every four years since then except 1942 & 1946 when they were cancelled due to World War II.

The last games were held in Glasgow ,Scotland in 2014 and  2018 Commonwealth games  are being held in Gold Coast , Australia.. The Games are known as Commonwealth Games from 1978 onwards.

The 2010 edition or the XIX Commonwealth Games were hosted by New Delhi ,India. A total of 272 events were held in 17 Sports Disciplines and attended by 71 Nations and 6081 athletes.

Apart from India, Australia ,Gibraltar,Guernsey,Mozambique and Papua New Guinea issued stamps on Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games. A Miniature sheet issued by Gibraltar, stamps and Miniature Sheet issued by India are listed below. The covers of India listed below were posted from the CWG Village Camp PO (D -378) which was operating during Commonwealth Games.

- Raman Thapar  : email : sahilthpr@yahoo.co.in

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails